Carabao Cup final ref picked for Chelsea vs Liverpool has recent history with Jurgen Klopp


Jurgen Klopp might not be too happy at the prospect of Chris Kavanagh refereeing the Carabao Cup final after the pair’s previous run-ins.

The PGMOL have confirmed that he will be the man in the middle for the Reds’ clash with Chelsea at Wembley later this month. Elsewhere, John Brooks will be leading the VAR analysis.

Klopp might have reservations about Kavanagh given he has had a series of disagreements with the official during his time at Anfield. With the pair butting heads again only a couple of months ago.

The Liverpool boss thought his side were deserving of a penalty for a Martin Odegaard handball during a 1-1 draw with Arsenal - a decision chief of refs Howard Webb admitted wad wrong. Speaking about the incident after the game, Klopp said: “The penalty situation is a weird situation, I don’t know if the ref can see it, but you look at it and I’m not sure how you can say it’s not a penalty.”


The German continued his complaints in his post-match press conference. He added: “I didn’t see it in the game, I saw it after and I think we all agree it was handball. But I always wait until Mr Dermot (Gallagher) explains it the next day (in his role as a TV analyst) what’s really the case.

“He will find a way to explain to me why it was not handball. For me it’s a clear handball. I have no idea if it would have influenced the result.”

December's disagreement is not the first time that Klopp has taken exception to one of Kavanagh’s decisions either. Klopp was left baffled by a decision to award Everton a penalty in the Toffees’ 2-0 win at Anfield in February 2021. Trent Alexander-Arnold collided with Dominic Calvert-Lewin to see Everton handed a spot-kick.

Opening up on his thoughts, he said: "I really think it is unfair to ask me because everybody asks me that question, so it means everybody thinks it was not a penalty. But that is not really important because the referee thought it was a penalty.

"So I wanted to talk to him after the first few interviews I had but he left already. I just wanted to ask what did he see because when the VAR calls you over to the sideline then I think he is in doubt about the decision.

"But he needed only a second [to decide]. So he went there, had a look and give a penalty, so he obviously saw something other people didn't see. I haven't seen it back yet but everyone who speaks to me tells me the same. How can it be a penalty? So..."

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Liverpool ready to offer 14 goal star new long-term contract, 25-year-old viewed as future of Merseyside club

Liverpool could plot Xabi Alonso and Bayer Leverkusen raid of Florian Wirtz and four stars

£35 million star has "verbally agreed personal terms" with Liverpool

Romeo Lavia has just tweeted four words as Liverpool transfer rumours swirl

Moises Caicedo now left furious after what Brighton have just done